top of page

M.E. and My Favorite Spots in CStat

One of the great adventures in life is exploring the area you live in. Finding your favorite spot, or even spots, can make your ordinary area extraordinary to you.


"Once a year, go someplace you've never been before."

- Dalai Lama


Finding Your Place


Since transferring to Texas A&M University in the Fall of 2019, I have been a resident of the Bryan-College Station area. Now that I have secured a job in Bryan, it appears that I will not be moving any time soon.


Seeing my current job as a long-term career, I am coming to the realization that I will remain a resident of the Bryan-College Station area for years to come.


Most of my time spent in this area was during the COVID-19 pandemic, making it hard for me to do much exploring. Still, I have managed to find those places that make College Station special to me.


My goal is to continue finding new places and things to do, especially with friends and family. But for now, I figured I'd share with you the few places that have won my heart.


Live The Local Life


Something I love to do, not surprisingly, is shop. But I especially love supporting small businesses in the process.


In my opinion you can find the most unique and interesting products at small markets. You can also make some amazing new friends.


During my second semester at TAMU I was introduced to The Local in Bryan-College Station. This is a local market where small business owners gather together at the Lake Walk by the The Stella Hotel and sale their products.


These products can be anything from food to jewelry or plants to pottery! Every booth has something even more special than the last.


While I love the products available, and always leave with at least one item, I enjoy getting to know the small business owners as well.


Each one has such an interesting story behind their craft!


As someone who loves being creative, I feed off of the creative energy present at this event.


It is always exciting to meet the owners of each booth and get to know them. More often than not, they will be a continuous vendor at The Local. Leading to many more cherished interactions.


I have to say, going to the The Local always brightens my week. I get to experience new crafts, create new relationships and usually eat some delicious treats!


Dance the Night Away at Hurricane Harry's


While The Local is great for a relaxed evening, Hurricane Harry's is perfect for those nights I want to go out and have some energized fun.


My whole life I have been a dancer in one way or another. At the age of three I began dance lessons and by the time I was in 2nd Grade I had become a competitive dancer. Even after moving and having to give up competitive dancing I continued to dance. Whether it be two-stepping at dances or participating in Zumba classes, I have always found a way to dance.


When I moved to College Station and found out about Harry's, I couldn't contain my excitement! That first Thursday night in College Station I went straight to Harry's and met up with a group from church. We spent the whole night on the dance floor.


Considering my parents met at a dance hall, it is no surprise that I love to two-step. Being danced around, dipped and flipped makes me feel more alive than ever.


It was honestly depressing not being able to go dancing due to the pandemic, but as soon as Harry's opened up its doors again I was right back on their dance floor.


These last few months have been especially fun as my sister is now in College Station and can go with me.


We always make it a point to invite friends to come. And when we are at Harry's we always connect with any girl we see there alone.


This not only creates new friendships, but helps those alone feel more comfortable and safe. Throughout the night we all make sure we have each other's back and that nothing bad happens to anyone.


Ladies have to stick together, of course.


Gardens and Gratitude


While I love the interaction of The Local and the energy of Hurricane Harry's, sometimes I need to take time to slow down altogether.


One of the best things about being in the College of Agriculture was having classes at the AGLS Building. Not just because of the building itself, but the gardens behind it.


I haven't spent a whole lot of time at the TAMU Gardens, but the time I have has been special.


The TAMU Gardens have so many different areas to explore. There are specialized gardens within the Gardens, benches and swings to rest on and many more attractions.


Throughout the year the Gardens are constantly evolving as new plants are planted during different seasons.


Whenever I step foot in the TAMU Gardens, I feel gratitude for nature. We are so blessed in College Station to have green spaces such as this.


The area is calm, peaceful and beautiful. My sister often talks about her time spent studying between classes at the Gardens. There seems to be an unspoken expectation of respect for the gardens and those enjoying what they have to offer.


I was lucky enough to take my senior photos at the TAMU Gardens and every time I look back at the photos I am reminded of their beauty.


Having taken multiple Horticulture courses, I have learned to appreciate spaces like this more and more.


Everyone, especially students at TAMU, should take advantage of this beautiful space.


Home Sweet Home


I know I said I want to explore more of this area and hate that the pandemic stopped my exploring, but I must admit that one of my favorite places is simply my apartment.


It is nowhere unique, although I would argue the decorating is, but it is special nonetheless and without a doubt one of my favorite spots in College Station.


There have been many times I have been asked whether I'm a traveler or a homebody.


Based on my not-so-minimalist decorating, many people assume I am a homebody and would rather not travel and go on far off adventures. But this is not the case.


In fact, a goal of mine is to travel the world. Every time I travel, I just want to travel again.


However, when I'm home I want to feel at home. I love the feeling of going away on a trip and coming back to a space all my own. Even if I'm not at my apartment all of the time, I like for it to feel like a grounded space.


I've even had people surprised at the level of work I put into my apartment knowing that it is only temporary.


Whether or not it is a temporary living space, I like for it to feel complete and lasting.


My apartment is where some of the best moments in my life are currently happening.


This is my first apartment shared with my sister. I finished my last college course and final in this apartment. My after graduation celebration happened in this apartment. This is the apartment where I brought home my first personally adopted pet.


There are so many memories here and the fact that I get to make more makes this one of my favorite spots in College Station.


More to See; More to Do


There are many other favorite places of mine in the Bryan-College Station area, including stores, restaurants and entertainment centers, but these four places are by far at the top of my list.


Now being a permeant resident of Bryan-College Station means I need to explore the area even more.


There are so many more things to see and do. Only I can limit where I go and how far.


I'm going to keep exploring and I hope you do too.


Go see and do something new!


Love y'all!


- M.E.







Recent Posts

See All

Comments


M.E._Logos_Dark_White-03.png
bottom of page